DDR X (US) dedicated cabinet review

Moderator: Moderators

Ho
Site Admin
Site Admin

DDR X (US) dedicated cabinet review

Post by Ho » Fri Jun 12, 2009 3:22 pm

Chad, Tim, and I met at GameWorks last night to check out the new DDR X (US) dedicated cabinet. Matt was also there when we arrived.

Let's just get right to it. There's been a lot of negativity flying around about these cabinets as they've started appearing in arcades over the past week. Typically, I try not to pay a ton of attention to those kinds of reports in favor of forming my own opinion. Unfortunately, now that I have played on a machine myself, I pretty much have to join in the negativity. Bottom line: They are just not good.

Let me give you all a little background here to put some of this into perspective. I first played DDR on a US 1.5 machine back in 2000 and have been playing ever since, so I have a lot of experience with which to compare new stuff as it arrives.

Personally, I haven't been all that excited about DDR since Extreme. During the long gap between Extreme and SuperNOVA I started playing Pump It Up and have since come to actually like that game better. I don't want to get into a big debate about why, but I will summarize by stating my primary interest is freestyle and I find the stage layout and musical selection in Pump to be more fun for me than that of DDR--especially in the newer versions of DDR that tend to have much more step-oriented music.

Given that my general interest in DDR is waning anyway, my primary interest in DDR X was actually the new cabinet design rather than the content of the game. Years ago some of us had postulated about the possibility of a "DX" cabinet for DDR. The thought was that DDR would get an extra flashy cabinet in the way that Beatmania II got a DX cabinet and became IIDX. As pictures and video of the new DDR X cabinet started to come out, it looked like we were finally getting exactly that after all these years.

Image Damn, that's pretty.