Arcade operators and meeting player expectations

Moderator: Moderators

PlayerTwo
Beginner
Beginner

Arcade operators and meeting player expectations

Post by PlayerTwo » Sat Oct 06, 2007 10:11 pm

Hello,

I'm a Cincinnati-based operator gearing up to place a DDR in an Indiana location. I've reviewed the forums a bit to learn more about the issues players have with the machines, operators, etc. I've read the feedback, the stories and the complaints.

Our shop's relatively small, new and has few locations. However we want to do our best to make sure our machines meet the standards of the pro players out there. Just to give you an idea of how seriously we take this, take a look:

Deck before:
http://www.playertwo.com/shop/ddr_deck_dis_2.jpg
http://www.playertwo.com/shop/ddr_deck_dis_3.jpg

and after:
http://www.playertwo.com/shop/ddr_deck_after_1.jpg
http://www.playertwo.com/shop/ddr_deck_parts_after.jpg
http://www.playertwo.com/shop/ddr_handle_after.jpg

The decks, internal hardware and handles you see here weren't just painted but rather had their finishes baked off then chemically cleaned & treated and finally powdercoated. Nearly every other internal part is new. It may seem like overkill but we want to ensure a reliable machine that registers every step, every freeze. The machine may just be an Extreme but it's fully unlocked with every song playable.

I'd like to give you, the DDR community, pros & n00bs alike, the opportunity to give us your feedback. How else can we make the play experience and environment a positive one? Are floor fans a must-have? Is a projected display of the game screen on the wall helpful for crowd management? What haven't we thought of or factored in?

We're also readying a PIU DX cab and a Guitar Freaks. You can expect the same standards you see in our DDR in these games, as well.