Welp, I bought a cabinet

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
MonMotha
Site Code Monkey
Site Code Monkey
Posts: 2502
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 9:18 pm

Re: Welp, I bought a cabinet

Post by MonMotha » Mon Jan 04, 2016 11:35 am

Pull the bracket, clean off all surfaces both on the bracket itself and the surrounding stage structure. Verify that the paint is in good condition. If it's chipped or bubbling, it will need to be sanded down and, ideally, re-painted. Ensure that all 3 screws and spacers are properly installed when re-installing the bracket. If any are missing, it will tend to tilt and bind up.

If that doesn't work for some reason, try a little silicone lubricant on the surface between the stage structure and the bracket.
A normality test:
+++ATH
If you are no longer connected to the internet, you need to apply more wax to your modem: it'll make it go faster.
If you find this funny, you're a nerd.
If neither of the above apply, you are normal. Congratulations.

User avatar
Ho
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5644
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 10:26 am
Location: The Ho-House

Re: Welp, I bought a cabinet

Post by Ho » Tue Jan 05, 2016 10:27 am

The index card trick, if you're talking about what I think you're talking about, is if the sensor isn't registering reliably because it's sitting too low in the holder for the bracket to actuate it. I'm guessing you'd only make the issue you're having worse that way.

Are you sure the L-bracket is the problem? Does it move freely? Are all the metal spacers on the screws? Are all the screws (3) for it snug against those spacers? Are they the right spacers?

With the arrow panel out, is that sensor still stuck on? Can you lift the L-bracket and does the sensor clear?
Image

User avatar
Ho
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5644
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 10:26 am
Location: The Ho-House

Re: Welp, I bought a cabinet

Post by Ho » Mon Mar 21, 2016 3:35 pm

Are you still having troubles with panels sticking preventing you from playing doubles? I can't even remember what your exact issue was and I'm too lazy to read the history here right now. But, if you've got sticking panels, this might be caused by missing spacers on your L brackets. And if that's the case, you might be interested in this:
https://www.facebook.com/groups/4876291 ... 283851609/
Image

User avatar
MonMotha
Site Code Monkey
Site Code Monkey
Posts: 2502
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 9:18 pm

Re: Welp, I bought a cabinet

Post by MonMotha » Mon Mar 21, 2016 10:17 pm

As I recall, the spacers (or something that's, for all practical matters, close enough) are a stock part at McMaster-Carr.
A normality test:
+++ATH
If you are no longer connected to the internet, you need to apply more wax to your modem: it'll make it go faster.
If you find this funny, you're a nerd.
If neither of the above apply, you are normal. Congratulations.

User avatar
Merk
Lady Banned Son of Switzerland
Lady Banned Son of Switzerland
Posts: 8257
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Bloomington / Ft. Wayne
Contact:

Re: Welp, I bought a cabinet

Post by Merk » Wed Mar 23, 2016 12:15 pm

Yuuuuup I am missing a whole lot of spacers so that is likely the issue in all honesty. Can I order McMaster-Carr shit off of Amazon or something?
Image

User avatar
MonMotha
Site Code Monkey
Site Code Monkey
Posts: 2502
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 9:18 pm

Re: Welp, I bought a cabinet

Post by MonMotha » Wed Mar 23, 2016 7:03 pm

You can order it from McMaster-Carr...

www.mcmaster.com

I can give you the part number if I can find my bag of them that I ordered a while back. Either that or just measure the existing one (note that it's metric, so it will be "nice" in mm, not inches) and look it up on their site. Their parametrics are pretty good.
A normality test:
+++ATH
If you are no longer connected to the internet, you need to apply more wax to your modem: it'll make it go faster.
If you find this funny, you're a nerd.
If neither of the above apply, you are normal. Congratulations.

User avatar
Ho
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5644
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 10:26 am
Location: The Ho-House

Re: Welp, I bought a cabinet

Post by Ho » Thu Mar 24, 2016 8:55 am

Or you could just buy the things that I linked. They're not original, but I've heard very good things about them. And they're basically what is used in Pump. They seem to do a pretty good job there. I haven't had any issue with them.
Image

User avatar
Merk
Lady Banned Son of Switzerland
Lady Banned Son of Switzerland
Posts: 8257
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Bloomington / Ft. Wayne
Contact:

Re: Welp, I bought a cabinet

Post by Merk » Thu Mar 24, 2016 10:37 am

Ho wrote:Or you could just buy the things that I linked. They're not original, but I've heard very good things about them. And they're basically what is used in Pump. They seem to do a pretty good job there. I haven't had any issue with them.
This is probably the best approach. I posted on that listing, do you know how to order one? Do I just sent that Marco guy a PM?
Image

User avatar
Ho
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5644
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 10:26 am
Location: The Ho-House

Re: Welp, I bought a cabinet

Post by Ho » Thu Mar 24, 2016 10:53 am

I don't know any more than what's in that post.
Image

User avatar
Merk
Lady Banned Son of Switzerland
Lady Banned Son of Switzerland
Posts: 8257
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Bloomington / Ft. Wayne
Contact:

Re: Welp, I bought a cabinet

Post by Merk » Tue Dec 14, 2021 1:31 pm

MonMotha wrote:
Wed Mar 12, 2014 6:23 am
Merk wrote:I am missing a brace plate that holds the two pads together (this part: http://www.coinopexpress.com/products/p ... _8713.html), how can I go about replacing it? It really is just a piece of metal, is there a place I can go to or order from that will take a piece of metal and drill holes in it for me?
Any metalworking shop should be able to make that given either a good drawing or, probably easier, one borrowed off another machine. I don't know of any near you specifically. Carmel Welding (in Carmel, appropriately) can probably do it.
Merk wrote:Also, the picture of my monitor very noticeably shakes at the slightest vibration. A strong bass note during the song will cause the picture to shake and get a little fuzzy. The game is playable but when selecting a song and going through the options menu you'll notice the picture shaking and it makes me worry. I'm guessing that maybe the neckboard isn't secured all the way, is there a way to safely secure it so that it doesn't move around?
Probably a bad solder joint somewhere. Hardest part is finding the problem. Fixing it takes all of 10 seconds with a soldering iron. Sometimes the bad joint is obvious. It's usually on a big, heavy part or a connector.

Resurrecting this thread! Ayyyy what up! I moved my machine to a floor that has a basement under it which causes the floor to vibrate significantly when playing. Because of this, my screen shaking is getting really bad to the point where I feel like I need to address it. Pardon my ignorance but where exactly should I be looking and what exactly do I do to the solder joint once the problematic one? Do I just melt solder on it?

I'm deathly afraid of fucking around anywhere near the monitor, how do I avoid not getting killed when poking around the monitor?



Also, dang, this thread brought me down memory lane and made me remember what a piece of shit machine I bought lolllll
Image

Post Reply