pump video output

Moderator: Moderators

Tounge73
Light
Light
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 3:41 pm

pump video output

Post by Tounge73 » Mon May 29, 2006 6:13 pm

i am holding a tournament in june , and i am getting a 60' Widescreen LCD Hitachi HDTV to use. i was wondering if yall knew how to make the video also output on a tv right next to it?

User avatar
Ho
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5634
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 10:26 am
Location: The Ho-House

Post by Ho » Mon May 29, 2006 6:51 pm

What kind of Pump machine are we talking about?

If it's Exceed 2 or Zero and running on a MK5 or MK6 system unit, the graphics card should have a built-in s-video output along with the VGA output that drives the main monitor.

However, activating that s-video output might require some hackery. MonMotha can help in that department if yours isn't already active.
Image

User avatar
danc1005
Heavy
Heavy
Posts: 3237
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 7:21 pm
Location: Da Fort
Contact:

Post by danc1005 » Mon May 29, 2006 7:46 pm

Hey, is your name supposed to be Tongue73? Why does everybody spell that wrong? [/offtopic]

-Dan
Image

User avatar
MonMotha
Site Code Monkey
Site Code Monkey
Posts: 2492
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 9:18 pm

Post by MonMotha » Mon May 29, 2006 8:02 pm

Most of those big HD screens have VGA inputs. That would look better than the S-Video output, so use that if you can. All you need for that is a splitter to split the output from the video card both ways. I'd recommend one of the two-way presentation amp thingies (~$50) since that will help with video quality over the long run to the TV and will prevent the screen from dimming.

If you need S-Video, I can help out, too, but I'd really recommend using the VGA input on your TV if it has one.
A normality test:
+++ATH
If you are no longer connected to the internet, you need to apply more wax to your modem: it'll make it go faster.
If you find this funny, you're a nerd.
If neither of the above apply, you are normal. Congratulations.

Jason Dread
Standard
Standard
Posts: 241
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 12:51 am
Location: Louisville

Post by Jason Dread » Mon May 29, 2006 8:47 pm

dance1005 wrote:Hey, is your name supposed to be Tongue73? Why does everybody spell that wrong? [/offtopic]

-Dan
Why do you find it necessary to sign your name at the end of every post you make? Here, let me mask saying something completely necessary with one of these: [/offtopic]

...even though I was never on topic to begin with.

User avatar
danc1005
Heavy
Heavy
Posts: 3237
Joined: Tue Feb 28, 2006 7:21 pm
Location: Da Fort
Contact:

Post by danc1005 » Mon May 29, 2006 8:53 pm

I dunno. I did it for some reason for like the first two posts I made here, and I like to be consistent...it's sort of like that number guy's "Yo" at the beginning of each of his posts. Does it bother you or something?

-Dan
-Dan
-Dan
-Dan
-Dan
:P couldn't resist
Image

Tounge73
Light
Light
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 3:41 pm

Post by Tounge73 » Tue May 30, 2006 2:11 am

it was supposed to be tongue when i first made that name for aol , but someone had it, so i just spelt it wrong so i could still have it, and most people dont notice it.

Tounge73
Light
Light
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 3:41 pm

Post by Tounge73 » Tue May 30, 2006 2:16 am

could it be possible to see a picture of the plugs on the back of machine? we have a mk6

User avatar
MonMotha
Site Code Monkey
Site Code Monkey
Posts: 2492
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 9:18 pm

Post by MonMotha » Tue May 30, 2006 2:30 am

Look at the back of your PC. That's what the back of an MK6 looks like :) It's just a PC in a metal box.

About the only thing of note is that the VGA cable has a right-angle adapter on it. It's easiest to just leave that there and plug your stuff into that. The adapter is there so that the back will actually fit on the machine.
A normality test:
+++ATH
If you are no longer connected to the internet, you need to apply more wax to your modem: it'll make it go faster.
If you find this funny, you're a nerd.
If neither of the above apply, you are normal. Congratulations.

Tounge73
Light
Light
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 3:41 pm

Post by Tounge73 » Tue May 30, 2006 3:49 am

dont they have that metal box around the hard drive ? or does the plugs go all the way to the back? S video would only do the video right?

User avatar
MonMotha
Site Code Monkey
Site Code Monkey
Posts: 2492
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 9:18 pm

Post by MonMotha » Tue May 30, 2006 4:30 am

It really is just a PC. Just like your desktop, the hard drive is inside, and the video card has the back plate (with the video connection) exposed at the back. The connector used is even the same connector as a normal PC uses.

I don't know what you mean by s-video only doing video. If you mean it doesn't have audio, that's true. The audio is right next to it on the PC's onboard sound output. This is run into a short cable that gives two RCA connectors for left and right. You can split it using a headphone adapter, but be warned that will degrade sound quality due to the crappy line drive levels used by the PC, especially with Exceed 2 (which has the internal volume turned up too high).

You really should just use the VGA output if your TV has the corresponding input. It will look MUCH better, and using the S-Video requires hackery that amounts to installing a new hard drive.
A normality test:
+++ATH
If you are no longer connected to the internet, you need to apply more wax to your modem: it'll make it go faster.
If you find this funny, you're a nerd.
If neither of the above apply, you are normal. Congratulations.

User avatar
Ho
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5634
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 10:26 am
Location: The Ho-House

Post by Ho » Tue May 30, 2006 6:07 am

I don't have a better picture handy at the moment.

Image

You can at least see the VGA plug coming out of the right angle adapter near the corner closest to the camera on the side facing MonMotha. Of course normally the unit he's working on in the picture would have a lid on it and would not be slid out partially out of the machine on the shelf as it is shown in the picture.

In case it wasn't clear, you will have to open the back of the machine to access the outputs we've been talking about. Pump cabinets do not have external outputs on the back of the cabinet the way that DDR machines do. (Well, at least GX cabinets don't.) BTW, you still haven't said what kind of machine you're holding the tournament on...and where?
Image

User avatar
FLAKK
Heavy
Heavy
Posts: 1004
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2005 7:04 pm
Location: Louisville, KY
Contact:

Post by FLAKK » Tue May 30, 2006 1:58 pm

Ho wrote:Pump cabinets do not have external outputs on the back of the cabinet the way that DDR machines do. (Well, at least GX cabinets don't.)
SD cabinets don't have external outputs either.
Yea, I'm like Mother Teresa, except I pwn.

User avatar
Ho
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 5634
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2004 10:26 am
Location: The Ho-House

Post by Ho » Tue May 30, 2006 2:42 pm

FLAKK wrote:
Ho wrote:Pump cabinets do not have external outputs on the back of the cabinet the way that DDR machines do. (Well, at least GX cabinets don't.)
SD cabinets don't have external outputs either.
I didn't figure they did, but I didn't want to speak definitively about a system I wasn't familiar with. I think I've only played on one SD cabinet and didn't really take any time to examine it.

And while we're sort of on the topic, my recollection is that the DX cabinets also do not have an external output. At least I don't remember seeing one on the DX cabinet I examined briefly at a recent arcade auction. In addition, getting to the system unit required actually separating and moving the screen unit away. That could perhaps make this particular project somewhat more problematic.
Image

Tounge73
Light
Light
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Aug 08, 2005 3:41 pm

Post by Tounge73 » Tue May 30, 2006 3:53 pm

This is the info for tournament, so i would have to take the casing off the back part of the hard drive to do this correctly?





The PUMP IT UP CHAMPIONSHIP SERIES
presents

**** Houma Gets Zero'd ****



Area Supporter: Tounge

Date: 6/24/06



LOCATION:

Coin it Up
5953 West Park Ave
Houma, LA
(985)-876-2756

VERSION: Zero SD Machine

TIME:

Signup's 12:00 noon
Tournamen start: approx. 12:45

ENTRY FEE: Pay per play ( you only pay 50 cent per round that you play , that way if you only make it like 2 or 3 rounds , you wont have wasted that much money )

DIVISIONS:

Speed and Freestyle

RULES:

*Speed*
-Hard mode will be held if enough people turn out for it.
*Speed Crazy*
- Top scores in each round will advance to next round. The number of rounds will be decided at the event. Most likely 2 or 3 players will be dropped each round, with the total number of rounds being around 8-10.
- The final 3 rounds of Crazy will be nightmare

SPEED SONG LIST:

Ok, this is the list of song that could be used in either hard , crazy or not used at all



I Love You Baby
N
Up Up
Mr Firefighter
Dear Friend
Turn Around
Do It Yourself
Enter The Dragon
Another Truth
Papa Gonzales
Extravangaza
Moonlight
Beat of the War 2
Beat of the War
Holiday :-P
Will o the Wisp
Dignity
Phantom
Funky Tonight
LIADZ
LIADZ2
Com'Back
Chung Hwa Ban Jeom
Mobius Strip
All Famy
Emergency
Forever Love
Xtreme
Blazing
Final Audition 3



*Freestyle*

Players will be judged based on their
performace in the following categories:
30% - Creativity
10% - Grade
30% - Performance
15% - Skill
15% - Dance
Players can use one side or
both; points will not be dedcuted for use of
one pad.

Freestyle song list: ALL SONGS ALLOWED


PRIZES:

Andamiro Merch. and Cash
-Cash amount is undisclosed as of right now. Cash will be awarded to 1st place in Speed and Freestyle along with Andamiro Merch.

OTHER INFORMATION:

Will have more info up soon, if you have any questions , leave a message

Post Reply