There is PRO at Dave and Busters

Discussion of arcades and other gaming locations with music/rhythm games

Moderator: Moderators

Re: There is PRO at Dave and Busters

Postby Amp Divorax » Fri Jun 26, 2009 1:31 pm

MonMotha wrote:
Amp Divorax wrote:The use of ITG difficulty ratings though is a bit weird.


Actually, it must be some kind'a hybrid. The ratings are generally higher than I would expect on ITG, but still lower than PIU. A 13 on Pro would be maybe a hard 10, 11, or easy 12 on ITG, but it would probably be ~15-17 on PIU.

The timing is a little tighter than mainline PIU, but I don't think it's as tight as ITG and certainly nowhere near DDR. I seem to get about 10-20% more greats on Pro than mainline PIU on the same song/chart (when available).


That is a good point given that energizer Crazy on Pro (rated 11) is around the same difficulty as it's ITG2 counterpart on Hard. (Which is rated 10.)
Memorable 2016 quotes:
Ho wrote:You can break arcade games and I will fix YOU!


Merk wrote:Potter if Citizens United actually gets overturned and not replaced by some equally awful legislation I will suck your dick and take a bunch of selfie snaps whilst doing so.
User avatar
Amp Divorax
Newshound
 
Posts: 2915
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:34 pm
Location: Near some arcade place that has the same initials as Drum and Bass

Re: There is PRO at Dave and Busters

Postby DAVE101 » Fri Jun 26, 2009 2:26 pm

I think it's compensation for the extra arrow you have to stomp on. I like the pro difficulty rankings because it's finally consistent.
Image
User avatar
DAVE101
ITG4LYFE
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:25 pm
Location: Bloomington/Westfield

Re: There is PRO at Dave and Busters

Postby lgolem » Sat Jul 11, 2009 7:26 am

I unlocked Chimera and Infection, I was trying to unlock the others but it didn't seem to work.
Also I talked to the manager last night about patching it, and he told me to try to come back with it and we will install it, hopefully I can make it back there today.
User avatar
lgolem
Heavy
 
Posts: 2888
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Bloomington

Re: There is PRO at Dave and Busters

Postby MonMotha » Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:09 pm

Audio issue is now fixed. It was also FREAKING LOUD when I was there, but I presume they'll turn it down some.

It's 5 songs for 5.8 chips w/ joint premium, which it has been for a long time.

USB slots work and track personal scores/load edits, but the machine doesn't usually keep high scores for more than a couple days. It's been that way for a while (forever?), too.
A normality test:
+++ATH
If you are no longer connected to the internet, you need to apply more wax to your modem: it'll make it go faster.
If you find this funny, you're a nerd.
If neither of the above apply, you are normal. Congratulations.
User avatar
MonMotha
Site Code Monkey
 
Posts: 2471
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 9:18 pm

Re: There is PRO at Dave and Busters

Postby Fluffyumpkins » Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:07 pm

NICE! Sorry I missed out last night. I saw some jazz after work. I'll definitely be up for going more often.
Music is a special thing because everyone is wrong on everything but it all works out in the end and we all get high as shit.
Image
User avatar
Fluffyumpkins
Moderator
 
Posts: 6574
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 1:53 pm
Location: Da Butt Hut

Re: There is PRO at Dave and Busters

Postby lgolem » Wed Jan 20, 2010 7:01 pm

it needs the R6 patch, it suffers from the Sata glitch or whatever the fuck it was called. Where it will forget its unlocks and high score data when it shuts down... but they are corporate and will never patch it
User avatar
lgolem
Heavy
 
Posts: 2888
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Bloomington

Re: There is PRO at Dave and Busters

Postby Merk » Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:14 pm

Did Andamiro seriously not test this game for stuff like this?
Image
User avatar
Merk
Lady Banned Son of Switzerland
 
Posts: 8046
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 9:33 am
Location: Bloomington / Ft. Wayne

Re: There is PRO at Dave and Busters

Postby Riot » Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:23 pm

Merk wrote:Did Andamiro seriously not test this game for stuff like this?


They need to take notes from a serious company like Roxor.
Image
User avatar
Riot
Heavy
 
Posts: 5340
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 7:58 pm

Re: There is PRO at Dave and Busters

Postby lgolem » Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:27 pm

Riot wrote:
Merk wrote:Did Kyle Ward seriously not test this game for stuff like this?


They need to take notes from a serious company like Andamiro.



FIXORED!!!!!!
User avatar
lgolem
Heavy
 
Posts: 2888
Joined: Sun Mar 26, 2006 1:45 am
Location: Bloomington

Re: There is PRO at Dave and Busters

Postby MonMotha » Thu Jan 21, 2010 11:46 am

Merk wrote:Did Andamiro seriously not test this game for stuff like this?

Andamiro had almost nothing to do with this release other than putting their name on it and licensing a bunch of the songs. It's pretty much the ITG team, otherwise, which is why it's just Stepmania rather than the real PIU engine.

...Not that I'd expect Andamiro to catch a bug like this, either.
A normality test:
+++ATH
If you are no longer connected to the internet, you need to apply more wax to your modem: it'll make it go faster.
If you find this funny, you're a nerd.
If neither of the above apply, you are normal. Congratulations.
User avatar
MonMotha
Site Code Monkey
 
Posts: 2471
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 9:18 pm

Re: There is PRO at Dave and Busters

Postby DAVE101 » Sun Mar 21, 2010 8:20 am

So has anyone applied a patch yet?
Image
User avatar
DAVE101
ITG4LYFE
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:25 pm
Location: Bloomington/Westfield

Re: There is PRO at Dave and Busters

Postby MonMotha » Sun Mar 21, 2010 3:50 pm

Given the giant corporatey nature of Dave and Buster's, getting a patch applied is a little complicated. I've been meaning to call up their manager and see what I can get done, especially now that the pricing is all messed up (5.8chips ~$1.30 for 1 song). The techs are not permitted to get the patch applied. So no, the machine has not been patched. It's still the original release that loses its mind occasionally and without the encore pack or any other fixes.
A normality test:
+++ATH
If you are no longer connected to the internet, you need to apply more wax to your modem: it'll make it go faster.
If you find this funny, you're a nerd.
If neither of the above apply, you are normal. Congratulations.
User avatar
MonMotha
Site Code Monkey
 
Posts: 2471
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2005 9:18 pm

Re: There is PRO at Dave and Busters

Postby DAVE101 » Sun Mar 21, 2010 5:24 pm

Gosh dang it, this is why Mr. Dread should post the unlock code for VVV
Image
User avatar
DAVE101
ITG4LYFE
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:25 pm
Location: Bloomington/Westfield

Re: There is PRO at Dave and Busters

Postby Amp Divorax » Sun Jun 20, 2010 6:00 pm

One of the workers at D&B has mentioned that the cabinet is being upgraded to a newer version soon! Oh shi-
Memorable 2016 quotes:
Ho wrote:You can break arcade games and I will fix YOU!


Merk wrote:Potter if Citizens United actually gets overturned and not replaced by some equally awful legislation I will suck your dick and take a bunch of selfie snaps whilst doing so.
User avatar
Amp Divorax
Newshound
 
Posts: 2915
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 3:34 pm
Location: Near some arcade place that has the same initials as Drum and Bass

Re: There is PRO at Dave and Busters

Postby DAVE101 » Sun Jun 20, 2010 6:23 pm

Hopefully they'll upgrade it to ITG3
Image
User avatar
DAVE101
ITG4LYFE
 
Posts: 905
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:25 pm
Location: Bloomington/Westfield

PreviousNext

Return to Locations

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron