Careers, anyone?

IndyDDR's online socialization center: general topics not related to specific coverage areas

Moderator: Moderators

Original Sin
Heavy
Heavy

Careers, anyone?

Post by Original Sin » Tue Apr 19, 2005 9:46 pm

Many of us here are employed somewhere, but what do you want to do as a career? I don't mean the playboy mansion pool boy, though. Reality in mind, where do you see yourself going in life? What schooling or other steps do you have to take to get there? This is more or less for the sake of discussion/curiosity, but if some of us have similar career choices in mind, it may help some people out if some of us are already on that path. You can share what you've learned about it, and how you have to get there.

Personally, I have a couple things in mind. My dream job is to work as on video game design. Characters, artwork, story boards, plot lines and music. I'm no programmer, but I love the design aspect of it.
I'd also love to do similar things for movies.

I've also had in mind working as an author, a comic artist or animator, and even a career musician.

As for what I plan to do? I'm hoping to go to college for CG and grahpic arts, 2, maybe 4 years if I'm ambitious. I'll probably take studio art classes and dabble with animation along the way, as well.

Crotis Jivefunk
Standard
Standard

Post by Crotis Jivefunk » Tue Apr 19, 2005 9:51 pm

i'm going to ball state next year (like everyone else at my school) and i'm going to study art and media. i plan on being an animator as of now. i'd also like to work on films. i didn't get paid, but i worked on a film called saving star wars two years ago. i'm going to work on another one this summer, same production company. hopefully that'll lead to better stuff.

ShammerS
Standard
Standard

Post by ShammerS » Tue Apr 19, 2005 9:54 pm

Telecommunications with a minor in Spanish.

Grubb
Standard
Standard

Post by Grubb » Tue Apr 19, 2005 10:14 pm

Sociology and Psychology,